What happens when my account is suspended for late payment?
When your account is suspended, your domain will no longer be accessible. This affects the account in three ways:
- Visitors to the domain will see a standard web browser "page cannot be displayed" error.
- Email sent to email addresses at the domain will bounce back to the sender.
- The service cannot be upgraded or downgraded and new services cannot be ordered.
You can still sign in to the account and update billing information.
If the account is not brought current within 15 days of account suspension, the account will be closed. If an account is closed due to a past-due invoice, it cannot be reopened. We highly recommend updating billing information immediately in order to avoid having the account closed.
Note: If your account is past due when the billing information is updated, we'll try to authorize the payment method for the full amount of the past-due invoice. If the transaction is authorized, your account will become active within one hour, and you should no longer see the online alerts in your account. If you continue to see alerts for more than an hour after updating your billing information, please contact Customer Care.
Note: If the account was suspended, it can take up to 24 hours after the account is brought current for the DNS (domain name server) information to be updated and propagated across the Internet, during which time the domain may not be available and you may not be able to receive domain email. Learn more.