Check if a browser is clearing cookies automatically

Are you signed out of your Yahoo account each time you close and reopen your browser, even though you've checked the "Keep me signed in option?" Are your settings and preferences in Yahoo services not being saved? This could be because your browser is set to clear cookies automatically, and we can help


Checking if your browser is automatically clearing cookies

Internet Explorer

Verified through version 10

  1. Click Tools | Internet Options.
  2. Select the General tab.
  3. Under "Browsing History," uncheck the checkbox for Delete browsing history on exit.
  4. Click OK to close the "Internet Options" window.
  5. Close and restart your browser.

Firefox

Verified through version 22

  1. Choose the menu option for your computer:
    • PC: Select Tools | Options.
    • Mac: Select Firefox | Preferences.
  2. Select the Privacy tab.
  3. Under "History":
    • If it is set to "Use custom settings for history," uncheck the checkbox for Clear history when Firefox closes.
  4. Click OK.
  5. Close and restart your browser.

Safari

Verified through version 5.1.7

Currently, Safari does not support clearing your history when you exit. Here's how to check Safari for extensions that might be automatically clearing cookies:

  1. Choose the menu option for your computer:
    • Mac: Click Safari (Safari Gear Icon gear icon in newer versions) | Preferences.
    • PC: Click Edit or Tools (Safari Gear Icon gear icon in newer versions) | Preferences.
  2. Select the Extensions tab.
    • All installed extensions will display. Click an extension to see details about what it does.
    • If you need help with an extension, please contact the developer of that extension.
  3. Close the "Preferences" window.
  4. If you made any changes to extensions, close and restart your browser.

Chrome

Verified through version 28

  1. Click the Tools icon Three horizontal bars | Settings.
  2. Click Show advanced settings.
  3. In "Privacy," click Content settings
  4. Under "Cookies," verify that the checkbox is unchecked for Keep local data only until I quit my browser.
  5. When you're done, click Done.
  6. Close and restart your browser.
  • Was this article helpful?

  • Yes
  • No

Still need help?