Share Photos During a Yahoo Messenger Conversation

Photos are made to be shared, and Yahoo! Messenger has a number of features to help you enjoy sharing photos with your family, friends, and other contacts


How to share photos

  1. During a conversation, do either of the following:
    • Click Photos at the top of the Conversation window. If you don't see Photos, click View | Conversation Toolbar.

      Photos icon
    • From the Actions menu, select Share Photos.

      Share Photos command
  2. Yahoo Messenger checks to make sure that your friend's version of Yahoo Messenger accepts photos. If not, you will see an error message saying that your friend has declined your invitation to start photo sharing.

    Note: Your friend can go to the Yahoo Messenger download page to get the latest version of Yahoo Messenger to enjoy photo sharing.

    If your friend can receive photos, you will see a message saying that you have invited your friend to start photo sharing and you can wait for a response or cancel.
  3. Drag your picture directly from Microsoft Windows Explorer or your desktop onto the Conversation window. A status note appears indicating that you are waiting for your friend to accept the photo.
  4. At the same time, your friend will receive an offer to either accept or reject the photo. Your friend must click Accept to receive the photo.
  5. When your friend clicks Accept, the photo is available to your friend to either view or save.

You also have the option to set up a more elaborate photo viewing session with your friend. To do that you must open the Share Photos panel. To open the panel, do one of the following:

  • Click Add to Photo Sharing from the waiting message.
  • Click Share if your photo appears in the Conversation window.
    The Share Photos panel appears to the right of the Conversation window.
    Note: For the Share Photos panel to work, both parties must be using Yahoo Messenger 9.0 or later.

Using the Share Photos Panel

When the Share Photos panel is open, you and your friend can do a variety of things with photos:

  • To share more photos, you and your friend can just drag photos onto the photo panel from wherever you have them stored on your computer—your desktop, your My Pictures folder, or any other place. It's that simple. Both you and your friend immediately see the photos in the Shared Photos panel to the right of the Conversation window.
  • Click the photo to magnify it. Click it a second time to reduce it to its original size.
  • Move back and forth between the pictures by clicking the thumbnail picture of the photo you wish to look at located near the bottom of the panel.
  • At the bottom of the window, from the Save menu, select one of the Save options:
    Note: If a shared photo is not saved, the temporary file will be automatically deleted when the Photo Sharing session is ended.

Save options

  • Select Save to My Computer to save the currently selected photo to your computer.
  • Select Save All to My Computer to save all the shared photos to your computer.
  • Select Save to Flickr to save the currently selected photo to your Flickr account.
  • Select Save All to Flickr to save all the shared photos to your Flickr account.
  • At the bottom of the window, from the + Add Photos menu, select one of the Add Photos options

    Add Photos options

    • Select Add from My Computer to navigate to other photos that you would like to share.
    • Select Add from Flickr to share photos from your Flickr account.
    • Select Add from Clipboard to bring in a photo from the clipboard.
  • At the bottom of the window, from the Tools menu select one of the Share Photos tools:

    Photo sharing tools

    • Select Remove to remove the current photo.
    • Select Remove All Photos to remove all the photos currently in the Share Photos pane.
    • Select Show Pointer to display a pointer that you can drag around the current picture to highlight particular features of the picture.
    • Select Use this Photo as My Display Image to substitute your personal image or avatar with the current image.
    • Select Copy to put a copy of your friend's photo on your clipboard.
    • Select Report Abuse to report behavior that you feel is not in compliance with the Yahoo! abuse policies.
  • Click Friend's View to see what your friend is currently looking at.
  • Right-clicking anywhere in the Share Photos panel displays a pull-down menu with several of the commands available in the Save and Tools menus.

 

  • Was this article helpful?

  • Yes
  • No

Still need help?