Block a contact in Yahoo Messenger

If you receive a threatening, harassing, abusive, or otherwise unwanted message from someone, you can stop the person from contacting you.

Before you block someone, you should know that:

  • The chat history with the blocked person will disappear and won't show up again, even if you unblock them.
  • The person you block won't know they've been blocked.

Yahoo Messenger for iOS and Android

  1. Tap the conversation from the person you want to block.
  2. Tap Settings icon Image for the conversation settings icon..
  3. Tap Block.
  4. Tap Block again to confirm.

Yahoo Messenger for Desktop

  1. Click the conversation from the person you want to block.
  2. Click the Settings icon Image for the conversation settings icon..
  3. Click Block User.
  4. Click Confirm.

Yahoo Messenger for Web

  1. Click the conversation from the person you want to block.
  2. Click the Settings icon Image for the conversation settings icon..
  3. Click Block User.
  4. Click Confirm.

Yahoo Messenger in Yahoo Mail

  1. Click the conversation from the person you want to block.
  2. Click the Settings icon Image for the settings icon..
  3. Click Block user.
  4. Click Block to confirm.