Use other email accounts in Yahoo Mail

Most people have more than one email account. Managing them all in one place keeps things simple. Manage your other email accounts using the Yahoo Mail multiple mailboxes or account switcher features.

Multiple Mailboxes

Multiple Mailboxes in Yahoo Mail lets you manage multiple email accounts without having to switch between them, for a seamless email experience. It’s fast and easy to read, compose, and sort all your email across all your mailboxes. You can also search across mailboxes and find the photos, files, messages, or people you’re looking for without having to switch between email accounts.

Yahoo uses an industry standard protocol, Internet Message Access Protocol (IMAP), to retrieve messages from additional Yahoo and third party accounts. Once you’ve connected your mailboxes, you'll be able to check all your email in one place.

Set up mailboxes

Whether you set up your account through a web browser on your computer, or through the Yahoo Mail  phone or tablet app, you only need to connect the mailbox once. After that, Yahoo Mail will stay connected to the mailbox across all devices and automatically retrieve your email.

Manage mailboxes

With your other mailboxes linked to your Yahoo Mail, you can manage all of your email in the familiar Yahoo Mail interface. Here are a few features you might not be familiar with that can be useful for handling multiple email addresses.

Send and receive email with your other accounts

Sending email

Any account you've added will be listed on the top-left column. Select an account from that area, then click Compose to send an email from that account.

Receiving and checking email

Emails will arrive in your Inbox or the folder you defined when you added the account.

To check for new mail, mouse over Inbox in the left navigation column | click the Check for new email icon.

Check for new email icon

Modify and remove your accounts

Edit an account

  1. Mouse over the Settings menu icon Small gear icon | select Settings.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. Select the account.
  4. Click Edit.
  5. Make your changes.
  6. Click Save.

Delete an account

  1. Mouse over the Settings menu icon Small gear icon | select Settings.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. Select the account.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click OK to confirm.