Starting January 31, 2019, the classic version of Yahoo Mail will no longer be available. At that time, you'll be upgraded to the latest version of Yahoo Mail or basic Mail, depending on your browser's compatibility. Learn more about the latest version of Yahoo Mail.

Add or remove an account recovery method

Don't get locked out of your Yahoo account. Keep a valid mobile phone number or email address on your account in case you ever lose your password. You can add or replace up to 10 email addresses. This limit includes current emails and any that have been recently removed.

Edit recovery info on a mobile app

This feature is not available in all Yahoo apps. If it's available in your app, you may be asked to re-enter your password, phone passcode, or Touch ID.

  1. Tap the Settings icon Sidebar icon.
  2. Tap Manage Accounts.
  3. Tap Account info.
  4. Tap Security Settings.
  5. Tap Email addresses or Phone numbers.
  6. Tap Add recovery email address or Add recovery phone number.
  7. Follow the on-screen prompts to enter and verify your new info.

Remove a recovery option - Use steps 1 through 3, then click the Delete icon Delete icon by the unwanted contact.

Edit recovery info on a web browser

  1. Go to the Yahoo Account security page.
  2. Click Email addresses or Phone numbers.
  3. Click Add recovery email address or Add recovery phone number.
  4. Follow the on-screen prompts to enter and verify your new info.

Remove a recovery option - Use steps 1 through 3, then click the Delete icon Delete icon by the unwanted contact.

Unlink recovery info from an unused or unrecognized account

Before disconnecting a phone number or email, you’ll need to be signed out of the associated account.

  1. Go to the Sign-in Helper.
  2. Enter your mobile phone number or alternate email address.
  3. Click Continue.
  4. Click Yes, send me an Account Key.
    -We'll send a verification code to your phone or email.
  5. Enter the verification code in the field provided.
  6. Click Verify.
  7. Click Continue.
  8. At the bottom of a list of your connected recovery accounts, click remove it here.
  9. Click the Delete icon Delete icon next to the account you want to disconnect.
  10. Click Remove this account.