Starting January 31, 2019, the classic version of Yahoo Mail will no longer be available. At that time, you'll be upgraded to the latest version of Yahoo Mail or basic Mail, depending on your browser's compatibility. Learn more about the latest version of Yahoo Mail.

Suspicious activity detected while sending email

In order to protect all users, we temporarily block sending on accounts that are flagged with spam-like or suspicious sending habits. If you're seeing "suspicious activity detected" or "account temporarily blocked from sending messages", you'll still have access to your mail and receive messages while you wait for the hold to expire.

Why an account is blocked for suspicious sending habits

Doesn't sound like your sending habits? Someone else may be sending email from your account. Find out how to secure a hacked account.

Tips to avoid the "suspicious activity" error in the future

  • Try sending your email as plain text if it contains hyperlinks.
  • Don't send a large number of emails over a short period of time.
  • Try using Yahoo Groups if you regularly send an email to a large number of recipients.
  • Remove and re-add the account from any non-Yahoo Mail app that may be accessing it.