Should I delete my contacts if my account was hacked?

No. If your friends are receiving spam that looks like it’s coming from your email account, but your account isn’t compromised

Secure a hacked Yahoo account

Yahoo takes account security seriously. No matter how strong your password is, scammers are always trying to find new ways to get your personal information. If you think someone else has accessed your Yahoo account , take the following actions to make sure your account is secure

How an account can be hacked

Clicking strange, suspicious links Malicious software installed on your computer. Get the full rundown on account security and learn how to safeguard your Yahoo account .

Hacked account sending spam after password change

Here's what you need to know if you've previously secured your account: Whoever hacked your account previously accessed your Yahoo Contacts list and sent your friends a spam email, most likely posing as you. You don't need to change your password every time you're alerted someone received spam from "you."

Report spam, hacked accounts, and phishing scams to Yahoo

Report email sent from a hacked account Did you receive a suspicious email from someone you know? Report the account without future email getting sent to your spam folder.

Scam Notification: Users charged for Account Assistance

Yahoo has been made aware of a recent scam where some Yahoo customers have received emails advising that their Yahoo Account have been hacked and requesting that they call a certain phone number to get their account reactivated. The users are then advised that account reactivation will cost £125. Please note that these emails are not sent by Yahoo and Yahoo does not charge for account reactivation.

Safeguard your Yahoo account

It's important to keep your Yahoo account information private and make your account hard to hack . A strong password, up-to-date contact information, and good online habits help keep your account secure and make it easier to regain access if you get locked out.

Why was I notified about account access attempts?

Here's what you need to know We send a notification regarding the security of your account when changes are made to your account , when our security system has been alerted that your account may have been compromised or when you or someone is trying to access the account from a different location, computer, mobile device, or ISP which the account is usually accessed from. Our system may detect this as unusual activity.

Error: Account temporarily blocked from sending messages

If your sending habits don't follow the examples above, it's possible your account was hacked. Learn what settings to check, and how to correct them, in our help article about securing a hacked account .

My account is sending spam

your account is another. We know it can be scary, but if your account's been hacked to send spam you can fix it.