Get the latest news about the COVID-19 pandemic from around the world at our coronavirus hub.
Agent chat support is unavailable, and phone and email support are limited due to COVID-19 health and safety considerations for our employees. Visit this page for help with common password, account, Mail, and subscription issues, or try searching our help articles.
Yahoo Groups will no longer allow users to upload content - Understand what's changing in Yahoo Groups, when the changes happen, and how to keep your important content.

Manage members in Yahoo Groups

Keep your group's membership streamlined by managing who stays, who goes, and who can post messages to the group. Members who are removed will have the option to rejoin again in the future, however, members who are banned won't be able to rejoin unless the ban is lifted.

Ban members

You can ban up to 2000 members per day.

  1. Sign in to a group you manage.
  2. Click ManagementManage Members.
  3. Click ActionsBan members.
  4. Enter up to 100 email addresses or Yahoo IDs, separated by commas.
  5. Click Ban members.

Unban members

When a member is banned from a group, two bans are placed: one for the subscribed email address and one for the Yahoo ID associated with that subscribed email address. The ban will need to be removed from both the email address and the Yahoo ID. Both can be located in the list of banned members by searching for the Yahoo ID, instead of the email address. Once a member is unbanned, a new request will need to be made to rejoin the group or a group member will need to send a new invitation.

  1. Sign in to a group you manage.
  2. Click ManagementManage Members.
  3. Click Banned.
  4. Select the member you'd like to unban.
  5. Click ActionsRemove from group.
  6. Click Confirm.

Remove members

You can remove up to 200 members per day.

  1. Sign in to a group you manage.
  2. Click ManagementManage Members.
  3. Click ActionsRemove Members.
  4. Enter up to 100 email addresses or Yahoo IDs, separated by commas.
  5. Click Remove.

Restrict members from posting messages

  1. Click Management | Manage Members.
  2. Click on the member you want to restrict.
  3. Next to "Posting Privileges," select Override - can't post messages.
  4. Click Save.