Get started with Flickr groups

Flickr groups are a great place to share your ideas and photos with other likeminded members and, who knows, you might make some friends! Here's what you need to get familiar with Flickr groups.

Learn the basics

Start your own group

FAQs

What are sticky topics?

A sticky topic is a group discussion that stays at the top of the list.

  • Admins and moderators set topics as "sticky" by clicking Make topic sticky on a discussion
  • Only 20 topics can be sticky at a time
  • Sticky topics are ordered by most recent first

How can I translate my group into other languages?

Admins can do the following from their group page.

  1. Click Administration.
  2. Click Name / URL / Description.
  3. On the left, click Add.
  4. Enter your translated info.
  5. Click Save this.

Can I create a group for my company?

Commercial use of groups is generally not allowed on Flickr as outlined in the Community Guidelines. The only way a company can run a group is if they work with us on an official Sponsored Group.

Why can’t I submit my photo/video to a group?

Group admins can define rules for what photos are allowed, like only certain safety levels or geotagged photos are allowed.

If you're unsure why your photo or video wasn't allowed, contact your group admin.

Who can see photos in a group pool?

Adding a photo to a group pool allows any group member to view your photo and add notes, tags, and comments, regardless of the photo's privacy setting.

Your photo retains the privacy settings you set for anyone who isn't a group member. It also stays in your photostream, available to everyone who can view it.

I'm suddenly the admin of a group I didn't create. What's up with that?

There are two ways you might become a group admin

  • You can be promoted, or
  • If you are in a group with a single admin and the original admin leaves, the next longest-serving member in the group is promoted automatically. If that's you, you're it!

If you don't want to be the group administrator, you can always leave the group and then just re-join as a member (see the 'basics' above to learn how).