Clear conversation history in Yahoo Messenger

Conversation list getting cluttered? You can remove old or unwanted message threads where you've chatted 1-on-1 with another person. (While it's not possible to clear a group conversation, you can always leave the group to get rid of group messages and to stop getting messages from that group.)

Before you clear a conversation, consider the following:

  • The conversation will disappear from your conversation list.
  • You will permanently lose the conversation history with that person.
  • The other people in the conversation will still be able to see the conversation history.
  • You can send a message to the person later, but you won't have access to past messages.
  • Clearing a conversation doesn't block someone from contacting you.

If you still want to clear a conversation, here's how:

Yahoo Messenger for iOS and Android

  1. Tap the conversation you want to clear.
  2. Tap the Conversation Settings icon Image for the conversation settings icon..
  3. Tap Clear conversation.
  4. Tap Clear.

Yahoo Messenger for Desktop

  1. Click the conversation you want to clear.
  2. Click the Conversation Settings icon Image for the conversation settings icon..
  3. Click Clear Conversation.
  4. Click Confirm.

Yahoo Messenger for Web

  1. Click the conversation you want to clear.
  2. Click the Conversation Settings icon Image for the conversation settings icon..
  3. Click Clear Conversation.
  4. Click Confirm.

Yahoo Messenger in Yahoo Mail

  1. Click the conversation you want to clear.
  2. Click the Settings icon Image for the settings icon..
  3. Click Clear Conversation.
  4. Click Clear.

 Remove a single message from the conversation - Learn how to unsend messages and photos.