Yahoo questions? Get 24/7 live expert help with your Yahoo needs—from email and passwords, technical questions, mobile email and more. Sign up here.
We consider security a top priority. We sent an email that we're updating our authentication policies around third-party email access to better protect Yahoo Mail accounts. You may need to update your account settings in third-party programs to use a more secure approach. Read our help article for more information.

Empty mailbox in Yahoo Mail

Are your emails and contacts missing? If you haven't signed in to Yahoo Mail for 12 months or more, your mailbox is considered inactive. An inactive mailbox stops receiving new emails, and all mailbox contents, folders, contacts and settings are permanently deleted.

Keep your mailbox active

Yahoo Mail maintains the content of your mailbox as long as it remains active. Sign in to your mailbox at least once every 12 months to keep it active. Content deleted from an inactive mailbox can't be restored. Other ways to preserve your mailbox*:

  • Subscribe to Access + Forwarding - Rest easy knowing that all your emails, along with the files and photos attached to them, will not be purged from your email account due to inactivity**. With Access + Forwarding, you can sign up for automatic email forwarding for just $1/month (billed annually) and never worry about having to log back into your Yahoo account again.
  • Upgrade to Yahoo Mail Pro - Keep your email account active and prevent the contents of your mailbox from being deleted by signing up for Yahoo Mail Pro. With an active Yahoo Mail Pro subscription, your emails won’t go missing during long periods of inactivity**. Plus, enjoy other premium benefits like no ads and priority customer support. Try Yahoo Mail Pro today and get greater peace of mind knowing your mailbox won’t go inactive.

  *Not available in all locales - If the option isn't listed in your account, it's not available at this time. View our Terms of Service in your region.

Reclaim an inactive mailbox

An inactive mailbox can be recovered by signing in to it. This action only reclaims the email address, not the original contents of the mailbox. Custom mailbox settings created before an account became inactive need to be created again.
 

**Subject to storage limits, spam and email abuse policies and future changes in storage policy.