If you've been prompted to reset your password or received a security notice from Yahoo, you can learn more about your account security on our help page.

Add or remove an account recovery method

Don't get locked out of your Yahoo account! Keep a valid mobile phone number or email address on your account in case you ever lose your password and remove them from accounts you don’t recognize or use.

Add or remove a recovery option on a computer

  1. Sign in to your Yahoo Account.
  2. Click Account security.
  3. Click Email addresses or Phone numbers.
  4. Click Add recovery email address or Add recovery phone number.
  5. Follow the on-screen prompts to enter and verify your new info.

Remove a recovery option - Use steps 1 through 3, then click the Delete icon Delete icon by it.

Add or remove a recovery option on a mobile device

This feature is not available in all Yahoo apps. If it's available in your app, you may be asked to re-enter your password, phone passcode, or Touch ID.

  1. From an app or mobile browser, tap the Sidebar icon Sidebar icon.
  2. Tap Account info.
    • If using the Yahoo Mail app, tap Manage Accounts to see this option.
  3. Tap Security Settings.
  4. Tap Email addresses or Phone numbers.
  5. Tap Add recovery email address or Add recovery phone number.
  6. Follow the on-screen prompts to enter and verify your new info.

Remove a recovery option - Use steps 1 through 3, then click the Delete icon Delete icon by it.

Unlink my recovery info from an account I don’t recognize or use

Before you can disconnect a phone number or email address you’ll need to be signed out of the account that it’s associated with.

  1. Go to the Sign-in Helper.
  2. Enter your mobile phone number or alternate email address.
  3. Click Continue.
    -Complete the CAPTCHA verification if prompted.
  4. If you have access to the phone number or email address, click Yes, send me an Account Key.
    -We'll send a verification code to your phone or email.
  5. Enter the verification code we sent in the field provided.
  6. Click Verify.
  7. Click Continue.
  8. A list of accounts connected to that recovery option will display.
  9. At the bottom of the list, click remove it here.
  10. Click the Delete icon Delete icon next to the account you want to disconnect.
    -Any account you're signed into will be greyed out and can't be removed.
  11. Click Remove this account.
    -Delete another account by clicking Remove another account.