Close your Yahoo account

If you're having trouble signing in or have concerns about your account's security, closing your account isn't the only option:

  Important - If you close your account, all your Yahoo services will be shut down along with your personal settings.

Reminders about closing an account

  • You'll need the passwords.
  • If you have a child and family account, delete the linked child account first before you delete the family account.
  • Your account may not be recoverable: Only delete your account if you’re  certain you’d like to remove it,
  • You’re always welcome back! If you change your mind,  you’re welcome to sign up for a new account.

Close your account

  1. Go to the "Terminating your Yahoo account" page.
    - If you use a phone number to sign in, visit the alternative account termination page instead.
  2. Read the info under "Before continuing, please consider the following information."
  3. Confirm your password. 
    - Forgot your password? - Recover it with the Yahoo Sign-in Helper.
  4. Click Terminate this Account.

Close a child or family account

There's a few steps you'll need to take before you delete your Yahoo child and/or family account.

  • Deleting a child account: You can delete a child account that is linked to a Yahoo family account.
  • Deleting a family account: If you also want to delete your family account, you'll need to delete all linked child accounts first, before you can request to delete the family account.
  • Read the warnings! Read the warning information first, located under Additional Information at the bottom of this page, before proceeding with deleting your account.

Delete a child account 

  1. Download any data you want to keep from the account, like emails or attachments. 
    Download your Yahoo child account data. Note: You’ll need to sign in to your child's account to download any of the data.
  2. Go to the Account Termination page.
    - You may be asked to sign in again.
  3. To proceed, type the CAPTCHA code.
  4. Click Terminate this Account.
  5. Follow the prompts to complete account deletion.

Delete a family account 

  1. Remove all Yahoo child accounts linked to the family account.
    - See instructions above.
  2. See our support options for more assistance.

Save info from your account

If you're considering closing your account, you can download and save some of its info before you lose it for good

You'll need to sign in to your Yahoo account to download any of its information or content. Once a Yahoo account is closed, we can't recover its contents or restore access to it.