Reasons Yahoo deactivates or deletes an account

Confirm if your account has been deleted using the Sign-in Helper. If your account doesn't exist anymore, you'll get a notification page saying it has been deactivated or you can't reset your password online.

Depending on your account's activity or a request originating from your account, it's possible for your account to be deleted from Yahoo. Once your account has been deleted, it and all its information will no longer be available to you.   

You can always sign up for a new Yahoo account, just keep in mind that your old Yahoo ID may not be available for you to use.

Actions that result in an account being deleted

  1. You (or someone else) requested that your account be deleted
    It's possible to manually delete your account from your Account Deletion page, but only after verifying your account ownership by entering your password.
  2. Your account was inactive for over 1 year
    If you rarely use your account, it will go into an inactive state and then be deleted. You can prevent this by signing in to your account using any device at least once every 12 months.
  3. Your account was used in a way that violates our Terms of Service
    Every Yahoo has to play by the rules. When any account breaks any of the policies in our Terms of Service, it may be deleted.