|Managing a Contact’s Details||Requesting a Contact’s Details||Sending Your Contact Details||Viewing a Contact’s Profile||Deleting a Contact|
You can delete a contact from your Messenger List or address book. When you delete a contact from your Messenger List, you can keep the contact in your address book to maintain the contact’s details. When you delete a contact from your address book, Yahoo! Messenger automatically deletes the contact from your Messenger List.
Notes: Yahoo! Messenger and your Yahoo! Contacts are integrated and synchronized. When you delete a contact from the address book in Messenger, you’re deleting the same contact from your Yahoo! Contacts.
This task shows you how to:
In your Messenger List, select one or more contact names (hold down the Ctrl key while selecting multiple names), then select Delete from the Contacts menu or select Delete from the right-click menu.
The Delete Contact window opens.
Confirm the deletion by clicking the Yes button.
Tip: Check Delete From Address Book, too to
remove this contact from your Yahoo! Contacts.
Note: Deleting contacts can’t be undone.
In the Address Book, select a contact, then select Delete from the Contacts menu or select Delete from the right-click menu.
In the Delete From Address Book window, confirm the deletion by clicking the Yes button.
Tip: You can also delete a contact by clicking the Delete Contact button in the Contact Details window shown in Modifying a Contact’s Details.
You can add, modify, and delete contacts at any time. Keep information up to date by requesting details from your contacts and sending your details to them.
Tips: When you delete a contact from your Messenger List and Address Book, your name isn’t removed from his or her Messenger List and Address Book if you were previously added. The contact continues to see your online status. To ensure your privacy, you can choose to ignore the contact. For more information, see the Protecting Your Privacy tutorial.