|Sharing Your Contact Information||Updating Your Personal Information||When Friends Update Information|
Have you ever lost track of a friend because she moved and forgot to let you know her new address and phone number? When you’ve changed your contact information, did you remember to let all of your friends and colleagues know? It can be a hassle letting everyone know of your changes and is certainly unfortunate when you lose track of people you care about.
Keeping your own contact information up to date in Yahoo! guarantees that your friends and family automatically learn about your changes. All you have to do is connect with those you care about and keep your contact information current; Yahoo! does the rest by letting you and your friends know about one another's changes.
Connect with those you care about.
Connecting sets you up to receive Yahoo! Updates and lets us inform you and your friends about contact information changes.
Choose what personal information you’d like to share and with whom.
While viewing all of your contacts, click the Share my info link under Popular Tools.
Tip:You can also click the Contact Info link your profile.
Your Contact Info card opens showing how you’re currently sharing your personal information.
Tip: If you see a Start Sharing button
instead of an OK button, you haven’t started
sharing your information. Click the button to begin sharing.
To change your sharing settings, click the Edit button and sign in to view your Contact Information page.
Choose how you want to share information by selecting an option from the pull-down menu on the right side of each bit of information.
Everyone — anyone who can see your contact information can see this
Connections — you and your connections see this information
No one — only you see this information
Note: Of course, only information that you’ve entered can be shared. While you’re on this page, why not add a few more details about yourself?
Click the Save button at the bottom of the page.
You’re returned to your Contacts Info card. Any changes you make to your information will be shared according to your settings.
When you connect with friends, your contact information is automatically added to their Yahoo! Contacts; typically your name and email address. When you begin sharing your contact information, all details that you’ve agreed to share are automatically added to their Yahoo! Contacts. When you change information that you’re sharing, your connections receive an update (if you’re sharing personal information updates) and see the change the next time they view your details.
To take full advantage of this feature, be sure to keep your contact information current.