|What Is...||Viewing Your Friends’ Updates||Controlling the Updates You See||Viewing Your Own Updates||Controlling the Updates You Share|
Yahoo! Updates is a service that helps you keep in touch with friends and family. Updates are mini-stories shared between you and your contacts that tell about what you’re doing in Yahoo! and beyond. You determine which Updates you want to share—let your friends know every time you post a photo on Flickr, change your avatar, "Buzz up" a Yahoo! news item, and so much more. And you’ll learn about your friends' latest online activities, too. Updates are just another way Yahoo! helps you keep in touch with your online social circle.
In Yahoo! Messenger, you can see all public Updates from the contacts on your Messenger List as long as are sharing Updates with anyone. If you are connected to a contact and the contact is sharing Updates with connections only, you won’t see these Updates in Messenger. To see connection-only Updates, visit your profile on Yahoo! or att.net Mail.
You can view your friends Updates through the Y! Updates tab or the contact card. The next task shows you how.