What does "resample" mean?
When you add an image to your page with your editing toolbar, you'll see a "Resample image" option selected by default. When this option is selected, Site Solution will optimize the image for your page, reducing its overall size to help your page load more quickly.
Resampling is a process in which the number of pixels (the tiny dots that make up an electronic image) is changed to modify the overall size and resolution of an image. Site Solution downsamples, which means it reduces the number of pixels in the image, leaving as much of the image as needed to maintain high quality while removing unneeded data to help the image and your page load quickly. Learn more about image size.
When you upload an image to Site Solution, we'll automatically add your original image and resampled versions of that image to your File Manager. If you uncheck the "Resample image" option when you add your image, Site Solution will use the original version of the image on your page. (We'll always adjust the image's dimensions to fit the area in which you're adding the image.)
We recommend resampling to improve the performance of your pages, particularly if your page will include many images, or your images are particularly large.
When might you not want to resample your image?
You might uncheck the resample option if you're adding a very high-resolution image with dimensions similar to the area in which you're adding the image; in this case, you may find that reducing pixels would cause your image — a logo, for example — to look jagged or pixelated (a visual effect in which pixels become visible as individual large squares). If you find that an image on your pages looks strange, try adding it again without resampling.
Because resampling changes the structure of an image, it can also break animations. We recommend unchecking the "Resample image" option if you add an animated GIF. Learn about image formats.
Note that the "Resample image" option is available only for images you add with your editing toolbar. This option is not available in your image galleries.