Current and favorite locations
After signing in to your account, you can view and manage all of the locations that are used to personalize your Yahoo experience from the Location Settings page.
Your current location is based on either the IP address provided by your Internet Service Provided which connects you to the internet, or the location detected from your mobile device (if you gave it permission to use your location). Using any of this information, we can usually figure out where you're currently located.
We realize that we don't get your location right every time, so you can help us by clicking Detect my location and we'll remember it until you move locations (technically, change your IP address) or click Detect my location again.
Your Favorite locations give you easy access to locations of your interest on Yahoo. Eventually, it may also be used for personalizing your experiences on Yahoo.
When you're signed in, your Favorite locations will be saved to your account as long as it remains active. It's also possible to save Favorites using the location selector when you're signed out, but these "Saved Locations" won't be related to your account.
Your previously stored locations are also now moved to the Favorite location list, including:
- Information you provided when you registered for your Yahoo account
- Your "Current Location" on Facebook, if you've linked your Facebook and Yahoo accounts.
In the past, accounts also had a "Default" location. That location type has been migrated to your Favorite locations for one-click access.
Caution: If you clear computer's cookies, any of the "Favorite" locations saved while you were signed out of your Yahoo account will be deleted, but it won't affect the locations saved to your account.