When you edit your external mail settings, the password is hidden for security reasons. If someone were able to view this page, they could potentially see your password. Even if we used asterisks (*) to hide your password, it could still be seen in the source code of the page. By not showing your password on this page, the chance of revealing your password is completely eliminated.
Note: When you check your external mail, we look up your saved password, but don't show it. For this reason, if you've already saved your password in the external mail settings, you don't need to save it again. Should you get an error message saying that the password or user name is invalid, you can make sure it's correct by reentering it.