Search Help
 
 

When I cancel my plan, what happens to my domain name?

Your domain name belongs to you until your registration expires, even if you cancel your plan. Yahoo does not own your domain name.

If you registered your domain through Yahoo, and you decide to cancel your plan:

  • Yahoo will not renew your domain name when it expires.
  • You will no longer have access to your Yahoo control panels, including your Domain Control Panel.
  • Your Private Domain Registration service (if applicable) will be deactivated, and your domain contact information will become public.

If you used a domain registered with another registrar with your Yahoo plan, and you decide to cancel:

  • You will no longer have access to your Yahoo control panels, including your Domain Control Panel.
  • You will continue to manage your domain and pay any domain renewal fees through your current registrar.

 

Important: Before You Cancel

If you decide to cancel, we'll ask you a few questions to help you decide how to manage your domain name after you cancel your Yahoo service. We strongly recommend that you make arrangements for your domain name before you complete the cancellation process.

 

If you intend to keep your domain name after you cancel, consider signing up for our basic Yahoo Domains plan, which will allow you to continue managing your own domain with your Yahoo tools — even if you'd like to associate your domain with another web hosting service. You can also transfer your domain to another provider.

If you choose not to renew your domain name when it expires, someone else may be able to buy it.

 

If your domain name expires:
If you canceled your plan, and your domain registration expired, you might be able to reactivate your domain by signing up for a new Yahoo plan. Learn more about domain reactivation.
Was this article helpful?
Last updated: April 25, 2014