Search Help
 
 

How do I remove a page from my site menu (navigation bar)?

By default, all of your site pages are added to your site menu (navigation bar) automatically, but you can use the Manage Pages dialog to remove a page from your site menu.

Removing a Page from the Navigation Bar
When you remove the page, it will still be published with your web site, but your visitors will not be able to access the page from your site menu. Instead you'll need to manually create a text or image link to the page from one of your other pages, or provide the page address to your customers in an email, for example. (Just don't forget to provide those links, or your visitors won't be able to reach your page!)

To remove a page from your site menu (navigation bar):

  1. Click the Site Pages button to open the Manage Pages dialog box.
  2. YSS Site Pages Button
    YSS Site Pages Button

  3. In the Manage Pages dialog menu:

    • Click to select the page you want to remove from your navigation.
    • Click to unselect the "Show in navigation bar" checkbox. (You'll see the icon next to the page name change to a light gray.) Note that if you remove a main page from your navigation, its subpages will be removed from the navigation bar as well.
  4. YSS Manage Pages Dialog Menu
    YSS Manage Pages Dialog Menu

  5. Click the Update button to save your changes.

To ensure your visitors can easily find all the important information in your site, we recommend removing only supplemental or infrequently used pages from your site navigation.

Unpublishing Pages
Unpublishing a page will also remove the page from your site navigation. When a page is unpublished, it will not be available to your site visitors after you publish your site, so naturally it can't appear in your site navigation.

To unpublish a page:

  1. Click the Site Pages button to open the Manage Pages dialog box.
  2. YSS Site Pages Button
    YSS Site Pages Button

  3. In the Manage Pages dialog menu:

    • Click to select the page you want to unpublish.
    • Click to unselect the "Publish with site" checkbox. You'll see the icon next to the page name change to a light gray with a red slash, and the "Show in navigation bar" checkbox will be automatically unselected. (Note that if you unpublish a main page, its subpages will be removed from the navigation bar automatically.)
    • If you have chosen to unpublish one of your main pages, and that page has subpages associated with it, you'll see an active checkbox labeled "Update entire section". Click to select this checkbox if you'd like to unpublish all of the subpages in that section as well. (If you don't unpublish the subpages, they'll remain available to your site visitors, but will not appear in your navigation bar.)
  4. YSS Site Pages Button
    YSS Site Pages Button

  5. Click the Update button to save your changes.

Note that unpublishing a page will also remove the page from your site navigation. (When a page is unpublished, it will not be available to your site visitors after you publish your site, so naturally it can't appear in your site navigation.)

Hint: To permanently remove a page from your site, delete the page.

To make an unpublished page available again when you publish your site, you'll just need to return to the Manage Pages dialog:

  1. Click the Site Pages button to view a list of all your pages.
  2. Click to select the unpublished page you want to re-add to your published site.
  3. Click to select the "Publish with site" checkbox. You'll see the icon next to the page name change from light gray with a red slash to blue.
  4. If you have chosen to publish one of your main pages, and that page has subpages associated with it, you'll see an active checkbox labeled "Update entire section". Click to select this checkbox if you'd like to publish all of the subpages in that section as well.
  5. Click the Update button to save your changes.

Important: When you decide to publish your page, the page will not automatically reappear in your site navigation. To re-add the page to your navigation, you'll also need to click the "Show in navigation bar" checkbox.

Your changes will become available to your site visitors when you publish your site.

Hint: To permanently remove a page from your site, delete the page.

Was this article helpful?
Last updated: April 25, 2014