When a pitcher qualifies for a Hold in Fantasy Baseball
This article explains how and when a Hold is awarded in Fantasy Baseball.
The hold stat was created in part to measure the effectiveness of middle relief pitchers. Put simply, holds are to middle relievers what saves are to closers.
A hold is earned when a reliever comes into a save situation, records at least one out, and gives way to another reliever without giving up the lead.
Exception: A hold will not be credited if the save situation is for "effectively pitching for at least three innings."
Holds are not an official MLB statistical category, so you may find that different statistical services use a different criteria.
Therefore, holds reflected in box scores may not appear in your team scoring.
More than one reliever can be credited with a hold in a game.
Over the course of a season, you may find some unique scoring situations arise in your league:
- A pitcher cannot finish the game and receive credit for a hold, nor can he earn a hold and a save.
- A pitcher can earn both a loss and a hold in the same game. To earn a hold, a pitcher need only exit the game without surrendering the lead.
- Example: If a pitcher protecting a 2-0 lead is removed after recording one out and allowing three base runners, he can earn both a hold and a loss if his replacement surrenders a home run that results in three runs charged to the original pitcher.
- A pitcher can earn both a win and a hold in the same game. This may happen if the starting pitcher fails to complete at least five innings. When this occurs, the official scorer will credit the win to the pitcher he/she feels was most effective [MLB Rule 10.19(c)].
- If the win is awarded to the pitcher who also met the criteria for a hold, that pitcher will be credited with both a win and a hold in the fantasy game.