Will I lose my account information if I uninstall or upgrade?
This article addresses concerns about losing your personal information when updating or removing any version of Yahoo! Messenger on your system, including the following:
- Contacts or Groups
- Conversation History / Archives
- Preferences / Personalization
- Yahoo! Updates
All of your Contacts, Groups, Conversation History and Yahoo! Updates are stored on Yahoo! servers. As such, they are accessible from any computer or device with an internet connection. Uninstallation or upgrade will not have any effect on these parts of your account.
Personal settings (such as Preferences) are stored in the Windows Program Files folder, but they are not removed when using Control Panel to uninstall Yahoo! Messenger.