Do I have to switch to the new Yahoo! Mail?
Beginning the week of June 3, 2013, you will be prompted to switch to a new version of Yahoo! Mail, because older versions of Yahoo! Mail (including Mail Classic) are being discontinued. While you can delay switching for several weeks, beginning July 9, 2013, you can only access your Yahoo! Mail if you switch to a new version. You should have received an email from Yahoo! letting you know if your account required a change.
When you sign in to Yahoo! Mail the week of June 3, you will be presented with these choices:
- Use full featured mail: This switches you to the new Yahoo! Mail, with access to all of its features.
- Use basic mail: This switches you to a simplified version of Yahoo! Mail that doesn’t include some features. Basic mail is the only version of mail that is available under certain circumstances. Learn more about basic mail.
- Remind me later: This allows you to delay switching for another week. You will receive the same menu of options again in about one week. This option will no longer be available starting on July 9, as you are required to switch at that time.
If you prefer to opt out of interest-based and contextual-based advertising resulting from your scanned and analyzed communications content, you can change your settings at any time using our Ad Interest Manager.
If you don’t want to use the new Yahoo! Mail, you may consider these other options:
- Download your Yahoo! Mail using IMAP: IMAP allows you to access your email from a different email program, such as Outlook, Mac Mail, or your mobile device’s application. You can download your data to your personal computer or device using an IMAP program. However, in order to continue using Yahoo! Mail you will need to accept the Communications Terms of Service. See instructions for accessing Yahoo! Mail using IMAP.
- Close your account: Learn how to close your account.
Mail Plus accounts
If your previous version of Yahoo! Mail is no longer available and you would like to cancel your Mail Plus subscription as a result, you are eligible for a prorated refund for the unused portion of the service. See our refund policy and cancellation instructions.