Bidding is a key part of managing your Sponsored Search account. An effective bidding strategy can help you:
Bidding at two levels
You can bid at two levels: keywords and ad groups.
For example, if you set a custom bid of $0.50 for a keyword, it will set the bid for that keyword at that price. But if you set the keyword to use the default bid, it will use the bid you set for the ad group.
Bidding tools
Our bidding tools enable you to view:
Your ad’s position in the search results is determined by two things: your bid and your ad’s quality index score. For a given bid, ads that have a higher quality index may be displayed in higher positions in search results. The quality index displayed for your ad can be a good indicator of its expected performance.
How to determine your bid
To determine how much to bid, consider the following factors:
Then you can use the following formula to help calculate your bid: cost per acquisition x conversion rate = your bid (Example: $20 x 1.5% = $0.30)
To learn more about bidding strategies, see the Improving Your Results section.
1 Please note that these calculations are estimates only and are not guarantees of click volume.