A
A business or department that controls a marketing budget. Small companies might use a single account to manage campaigns; larger companies might require several accounts to represent different divisions.
Maximum amount you want to spend each day. You may be charged up to 10% above your account daily spending limit.
The unique identification number for an account
Indicates whether your account is on or off. If the account is off, your ads should not be displayed.
The marketing message displayed to prospective customers. An ad contains a title, description, and URL.
A set of ads and related keywords within a campaign. The ads can be displayed to prospective customers searching for or viewing content related to your keywords and/or ads. You can apply a default ad group bid to all keywords in an ad group or set custom bids for individual keywords.
Default bid you set to apply to keywords in an ad group. You can override the ad group bid for a keyword by setting a custom keyword bid
Indicates whether an ad group is on, deleted, off, or off - editorial status (indicating that it contains no approved ads or keywords).
Name that uniquely identifies an ad in a given ad group.
A view of the title, description and URL of an ad as it may appear when displayed.
Indicator of your ad's display status. If the ad status is "Off," your ad is not displayed.
A feature that allows you to test multiple ads to determine which one performs best. Adding more than one ad to an ad group will allow you to take advantage of ad testing.
Text you supply to identify Sponsored Search advanced match type clicks. The Advanced Match ID appears in your web logs.
An option within Sponsored Search that specifies how search terms are matched to ads. Ads that use the advanced match type are displayed for a broader range of searches relevant to your keywords, titles, descriptions and/or web content. By default, all ads are set to the advanced match type.
A notification regarding your account. You can sign in to your account to view alerts or you can receive alerts in email.
A feature that allows you to understand a wide range of activity related to your website and your online marketing activities. Yahoo! offers two analytics options. The "conversions only" option allows you to track conversions on your site generated from your Sponsored Search or Content Match ads. The full analytics option allows you to understand a full range of behavior, including how customers found your site, their browsing activity once they landed on your site, and which online marketing activities (from Yahoo! as well as other providers) are performing best. Using analytics provides you with information to help optimize your Sponsored Search and Content Match campaigns, as well as your other online marketing activities, to best meet your business goals.
The number of times a keyword or ad contributed to a conversion that was credited to another keyword or marketing activity. Assists must occur within 45 days of the conversion event to be recorded. Within any 45 day period, a conversion event can have a maximum of 30 assists recorded.
Average cost per click. The average price you paid each time your ad was clicked.
The average position of your ad relative to other ads within the Sponsored Search results.
B
The maximum amount that you are willing to pay for a click.
When campaign optimization is turned on, the bid limit defines the maximum amount that you are willing to pay for a click.
Continents from which you do not want traffic. You may block traffic from any continent except the one that corresponds to the market for your account.
Domains or subsections of domains on which you have blocked your Sponsored Search and Content Match ads from appearing.
A prospective customer that navigates beyond the landing page.
C
A campaign contains one or more ad groups sharing the same budget, schedule and geo-targeting criteria. A campaign is typically created to support a particular marketing goal.
Any notes you wish to record for the campaign, such as its purpose or goals.
The amount of money you want to spend each month (a rolling 30-day period) for a specific campaign. You may be charged up to 10% above your campaign monthly budget.
A feature that automatically manages campaigns for you to help maximize the effectiveness of your spending, based on guidelines you provide. Campaign optimization saves you time while helping you achieve your business objectives.
Indicator of your campaign's availability. If the campaign status is "On," your campaign is running. A campaign may be On, Off, Scheduled, Incomplete, Deleted, or Expired.
A provider of one or more marketing services. For instance, Yahoo! is a marketing channel with a number of marketing services, including Sponsored Search and Content Match.
A geo-targeting option for displaying ads within and related to a city and its neighboring towns. Please note that some cities and their surrounding areas span multiple states.
The action that occurs when an ad is selected.
The estimated number of clicks you may receive for an ad group given a specific ad group bid. This estimate is calculated based on historical data and is not a guarantee. Keywords in the ad group with custom keyword bids are not included.
The number of clicks received divided by the number of impressions generated. Example: An ad that is displayed 100 times and receives 25 clicks has a click-through rate of 0.25.
A pay-per-click campaign tactic that uses contextual matching technology. Content Match selects ads for display on web sites throughout the Yahoo! partner distribution network. The ads include links to your site, and click charges accrue only when your ad is clicked. With Content Match, your ad may be selected to display based on your keyword, title, description and URL.
Bid that applies to all ads distributed via Content Match.
Text you supply to identify Content Match clicks. The Content Match ID appears in your web logs.
The completion of an action that you value, such as a purchase, registration, or sign-up.
An option that allows you to track conversions and revenue on your site generated from your Sponsored Search and Content Match ads.
A script in the source code of a page that records a completed transaction. Typically, a Conversion Tag is placed on a Thank You or Confirmation page. The Conversion Tag can include the amount of the transaction.
The cost of acquiring a conversion. The CPA is calculated as the total cost of online marketing activities divided by the number of conversions.
The cost of advertising divided by the number of clicks.
A bid that can be set at the keyword level to override a default ad group bid. For example, if you set your default ad group bid to $.50, you may set a custom bid for one or more keywords within that ad group to override the default. Custom bids can only be set for Sponsored Search keywords.
D
The number of days that it takes for a customer to convert again.
The number of days until a file will be deleted.
The number of days that it takes for a lead to become a first time customer.
A bid set at the ad group level that is applied to all keywords in that ad group, unless a custom keyword bid is specified. For example, if you set a default bid of $.50 at the ad group level, all keywords using the default bid within that ad group will have bids set at $.50.
In an ad, the concise summary of the products or services you wish to advertise. For best results, an ad's description should correspond to its related keywords.
The URL of the web page that is displayed when an ad is clicked.
The number of times an ad was displayed relative to the other ads in the ad group. Example: If four ads in an ad group are rotated equally, each ad has a display rate of 25%.
The URL displayed in an ad. If the destination URL is long, you can include a shorter display URL. Example: An ad with destination URL www.example.com/s_id=0 could have a display URL of www.example.com.
E
A set of guidelines that give advertisers direction for creating ads that will help provide a quality experience for users on the Yahoo! network. Following the editorial guidelines is required in order for ads to be displayed by Yahoo! Search Marketing.
The status of a keyword or ad in the editorial review process.
The date the account daily spending limit was turned off.
The estimated number of days remaining before the account balance reaches zero.
An estimate of the position in which your ad will be displayed relative to other ads on the page.
The estimated number of clicks you might receive.
The estimated number of impressions your ad may receive in a month.
A script in the source code of a page that you use to track visitor behavior that is important to your business.
F
Conversions by first-time customers (i.e., visitors for whom we haven't previously recorded a conversion).
An option that allows you to track a full range of activity across your site, including how customers found your site, their browsing activity once they landed on your site, and which online marketing activities (from Yahoo! as well as other providers) are performing best.
G
A feature that displays ads within a specific geographic area or to users who express interest in that area. Example: A business that sells real estate in the state of California selects that state as a targeted region. Ads will be displayed to customers located within California, as well as to anyone who searches for relevant terms such as "California Real Estate."
I
A bulk upload of campaigns, ads or keywords into your account using a spreadsheet template.
The action that occurs when an ad is displayed.
K
Word or phrase that relates to the products or services you wish to advertise. When prospective customers look for information related to your keywords, your ads may be displayed
A custom bid for the keyword. This bid overrides the default ad group level bid.
A tool for creating a keyword list and viewing the historical popularity of keywords.
Indicates whether your keyword is on, off, or deleted.
L
A prospective customer that lands on your web site through online marketing tactics, a typed-in URL or a bookmark. A paid lead arrives as a result of paid advertising or search engine placement.
The number of conversions divided by the number of leads.
The number of leads between conversions for repeat customers.
The number of leads which occur before customers convert (i.e., the analytics tags on your web site record a conversion event). This shows the frequency of customer contact prior to conversion.
A detailed summary of the products or services you wish to advertise. It is displayed on partner sites that can accommodate longer descriptions. For best results, the long description should correspond to its related keywords.
M
The country or multi-country region in which you are advertising.
Any part of a campaign for which you want to track cost information. Examples include paid search ads, banner ads, and email drop.
Amount you currently pay for a marketing activity.
A group of one or more accounts that share settings such as time zone, currency, and market.
A user with access to the master account and any related accounts.
An option within Sponsored Search that specifies how search terms are matched to ads. Ads that use the standard match type are displayed for exact matches to your keywords, as well as for singular or plural variations and common misspellings. Ads that use the advanced match type are displayed for a broader range of searches relevant to your keywords, titles, descriptions and/or web content. By default, all ads are set to the advanced match type.
Identifies clicks from various sources, including Sponsored Search standard or advanced match types, or Content Match.
The maximum price you are willing to pay when your ad is clicked. You will never be charged more than your maximum bid. The actual cost per click can be lower than your maximum bid because your cost per click is automatically discounted to the lowest amount necessary to maintain your position on the page.
The lowest position you prefer your ad to be displayed on the results page. Please note that this does not guarantee that your ad will not be displayed below this position.
P
The method for funding your account, such as a credit card or PayPal.
An online payment service that lets you send money from the funding source you choose, like your credit card or bank account, to a variety of recipients, without sharing your financial information with those recipients.
Someone you consider a "serious shopper" for your products, services, information, etc. The prospect event is triggered when a visitor/customer navigates to a page on which you've placed the Prospect tag (e.g., "Add to Shopping Cart", or "Enter Credit Card Information" page).
A script in the source code of a page that appears just prior to the completion of a conversion. A prospect tag can be used to identify any drop-off between the conversion step and the pre-conversion step. Example: If customers must review their purchase before completing the transaction, place a prospect tag on the review page to collect data and better understand drop-off behavior.
Q
A relative measure of how relevant an ad is. It is determined by comparing an ad's quality to the quality of other ads displayed at the same time. The quality index is displayed as one to five bars. Ads with more bars have a higher quality and may require a lower bid and/or may receive better placement on the page.
R
Total revenue divided by the total number of browsers generated by marketing activity.
Total revenue divided by the total number of conversions generated by marketing activity.
Total revenue divided by the total number of leads generated by marketing activity.
Total revenue divided by the total number of prospects generated by marketing activity.
Return on Ad Spend. The amount of revenue you generated per dollar spent on a specific advertising method. ROAS is calculated as Revenue ÷ Cost of Advertising x 100. Example: A campaign that generated $5,000 in revenue and cost $500 has a ROAS of 1000%.
The type of access a user has within an account.
S
A search request that a user enters into the Search box on Yahoo! or one of our distribution partners.
A word or phrase that is entered into a search engine to find information, products, or services online. Advertisers select and bid on keywords that are relevant to their products or services. An ad can appear in search results when people enter a search term related to a keyword.
An estimate of the clicks you may potentially receive for all keywords in your ad group. The share is estimated using your bids and historical data for your keywords. This is an estimate only and not a guarantee of click volume.
In an ad, a concise summary of the products or services you wish to advertise. For best results, the ad's short description should correspond to its related keywords.
A distribution tactic that displays your ads on the Yahoo! network for search queries related to your keywords.
The maximum bid for Sponsored Search clicks.
Text you supply to identify Sponsored Search standard match type clicks. The Standard ID appears in your web logs.
An option within Sponsored Search that specifies how search terms are matched to ads. Ads that use the standard match type are displayed for exact matches to your keywords, as well as for singular or plural variations and common misspellings.
T
The method used for distributing ads, such as Sponsored Search or Content Match. Sponsored Search displays your ads for related search queries. Content Match displays your ads on content pages containing articles, reviews, news or other information.
The method used for receiving analytics data. Analytics data can be received using Conversion Only or Full Analytics. Conversion Only provides one tag that tracks conversions on your site generated from your Sponsored Search and Content Match listings. Full Analytics allows multiple tags to track a full range of activity across your site.
The geographic locations selected for campaign geo-targeting.
The headline for an ad. For best results, include the keyword in the title using the Insert Keyword feature. To attract the attention of potential customers, the title should be short, factual and compelling.
A URL appended with parameters that provide information about the distribution tactic, keyword, and raw search query used.
U
W